Winners will be announced at annual dinner in Birmingham

The finalists in the 2008 ALARM Annual Awards have been announced.

The association said it has proved to be a record year of achievement and innovation for public sector risk managers.

The Awards are given in recognition of excellence in the management of people risk, asset risk, operational risk, and strategic risk in the public services. One outstanding individual is awarded the title of ‘Risk Manager of the Year’.

The winners will be announced at the ALARM Annual Awards Dinner, taking place at the ALARM Annual Conference at the Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, on June 30. The Awards will be presented by TV and radio personality, Paul Ross, in front of 500 VIPs and guests.

ALARM Secretary, Carolyn Halpin, said: '[The quality and volume of entries was higher than ever this year, and the diversity of entries demonstrates the growing influence of risk management across all sectors of the public services.We are delighted to see such strong evidence of the contribution of risk management to innovation in the public services.'

The finalists in the 2008 ALARM Annual Awards are:

People Risk Award, sponsored by Capita BEST

Bedfordshire County Council

Greater Manchester Fire & Rescue

Suffolk Fire & Rescue

Wirral Council

Asset Risk Award, sponsored by Zurich Municipal

Adur District Council

Darlington Borough Council

Derbyshire County Council

South Lanarkshire Council

Strategic Risk Award, sponsored by Zurich Municipal

Hertfordshire CC & Welwyn Hatfield BC

London Borough of Croydon

Sevenoaks District Council

Sunderland City Council

Tyne & Weir Fire & Rescue

Operational Risk Award, sponsored by Travelers

Darlington Borough Council

Gloucestershire County Council & Gloucestershire Constabulary

Powys County Council

Windsor and Maidenhead

Risk Manager of the Year Award, sponsored by Risk Management Partners

David Hancock, London Development Agency

Theresa Mortimer, Gloucestershire County Council

John Rodway, Adur District Council

Elaine Taylor, Bedfordshire County Council