Opinion

Horst Simon

Time to kill 3LoD?

2018-12-18T03:03:00+00:00

The Risk Culture Builder’s Horst Simon tells StrategicRISK why it might be time to #Kill3LoD in order to get to the next level of risk management.

Gareth byatt opinion

How to leverage ISO 31000:2018

2018-12-17T06:33:00+00:00

ISO 31000: 2018 was published in February 2018, nine years after the last version. Much has been written and discussed about it. Gareth Byatt, principal consultant at Risk Insight Consulting and APAC Ambassador for the IRM, gives us his perspective on how to benefit from the new release.

Lauren Gow Opinion

To educate or not to educate: That is the question

2018-11-02T00:37:00+00:00

This opinion piece from StrategicRISK editor, Lauren Gow, examines whether formalising the profession is worth all the effort.

Emmanuel_edited_photshop

How can we become more diverse?

2018-09-20T19:48:00+01:00

Ahead of this month’s Dive In festival, two senior risk managers give their view on diversity and inclusion in the risk and insurance industry. Here, Emmanuel Fabin, insurance manager at TSB bank, says “despite moving away from its traditional, stuffy persona, in reality insurance is still not reflecting the diversity ...

Karla_photshop

Our battle against bias

2018-09-20T16:57:00+01:00

Ahead of this month’s Dive In festival, two senior risk managers give their view on diversity and inclusion in the risk and insurance industry. Here, Karla Gahan of VinciWorks, says “by relying so heavily on shortcuts, we are tapping into our biases and risk making poor choices”

Michael Doyle

Why strategic risks are not operational risks viewed strategically

2018-09-13T04:34:00+01:00

Chief risk officer, Michael Doyle tells StrategicRISK why businesses need to be very clear on where strategic risk ends and operational risk begins.

fire

Whirlpool tumble dryers and fire safety

2018-05-30T12:18:00+01:00

This article looks at the impact on the company’s reputation and what, in my view, could have been done to mitigate the negative publicity. By Shane Russell, crisis management specialist, red24assist

Hans Laessoe

Why ISO31000 beats COSO

2018-04-25T14:43:00+01:00

Hans Læssøe, principal consultant at AKTUS and former risk manager of Lego tells StrategicRISK why ISO 31,000/2018 (ISO) is well ahead of the updated COSO standard, despite the almost quantum leap the 2017 update has been given since the 2004 edition